Do as the Romans

Intro

My trip to Rome last week was my first time in Italy. It was an amazing experience and I would like to share some things with you.

Ryanair

Ryanair is a budget airline, and this was my first time taking one of their flights. The flight to rome was nice, I was in an aisle seat, and the people next to me didn’t bother me. The flight back I was in a window seat, and the people next to me did bother me. So, I have to say that it’s ok. The biggest downside is that seats don’t recline.

Shopping

Rome has a lot of shopping, a lot of which is really nice. You don’t need to break the bank to get one thing in Italy! Many people only know Italian designers such as Fendi, Gucci, or Prada where a shoelace costs $300 (I saw a dress that looked like a shoe string that cost more than that) but fail to realize that Italy also has designers such as Dan John and Doppelganger that are much cheaper, and look nice too!

Colosseum

I did not actually go into the Colosseum, but I have heard great things about it. I did walk there with my mom, and on the way, we saw the tomb of the unknown soldier, many statues and artists, and giant seagulls. I would recommend walking there so you can see all of these things and more, and next time I will for sure go inside the Colosseum.

Food

As a big fan of Italian food, I had to eat pizza every day while I was there. Fortunately, carbs don’t count I Italian pizza (google it!). As a guy that loves to eat pizza, I have had it in pretty much every country I have been to, and I have to say La Locanda Di Pietro in Rome has the best pizza in the world! Also, I feel like I need to thank Italy for introducing me to Cappuccinos!

Vatican Museum Tour

On our last day, my mom and I did a tour of the Vatican museum and I have to say that it was the opportunity of a lifetime! There were many works of art that captivated even people who are not the least bit interested in art. The highlight of the tour was, of course, the Sistine chapel. The only downside was that I could not take a picture of the Sistine chapel, but it will forever be etched in my mind.

Conclusion

My first trip to Italy was relatively short, but eventful, fun, and the experience of a lifetime. I can’t wait to go again!

If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe for more travel stories, tips, and hacks!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started